‘Mad’ Stars Quilt

image

Hello again, friends! I can’t believe it has been so long since my last post! I sort of lost my quilting mojo last fall when I was unhappy with the quilting on my Halloween quilt, and after quilting the entire thing with wavy lines, I decided to rip out all of that stitching and start over. I ended up doing straight lines but in a random kind of way. I will post a photo when it gets closer to this year’s Halloween (I know you will all be on pins and needles..ha ha)

Anyway, it took all winter to get it fixed, so once that was off my table I was able to focus on something new! I was inspired by the “Little Stars in AMH” quilt from blue elephant stitches and “Starry Eyed” quilt by kelbysews.
image

Originally I was going to make the stars out of Riley Blake’s ‘Madhuri’ fabric which I scored from etsy, but I had so much fun pulling fabric from my stash and making crazy pairings for the stars that I decided to just keep going. There is fabric from Kate Spain, Bonnie and Camille and Pam Kitty along with other Riley Blake collections. So far I love all the craziness! Hence the name ‘Mad Stars’ .
Even though the fabrics are all different and in kind of wild pairings, I think the uniformity of the pattern makes it all work together…at least I hope so….

This is one of my favorites:
image

Anyway, it’s great to be working on something new and to be blogging again.
Will be linking up to WIP WEDNESDAY over at freshlypieced.com

5 thoughts on “‘Mad’ Stars Quilt

  1. I love all the color and patterns, it’s so happy and upbeat! And I agree, the yellow star on texty fabric is my favorite too, though it’s hard to pick just one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the yellow and the text fabric too! They are all lovely. I’m glad you worked through your quilting frustration issues and are back! Those can be hard to recover from but a successful finish (one that doesn’t involve ripping out all the quliting) is always rejuvenating.

    Like

  3. Love all the colors you have pulled together! Lots of fun! Can’t wait to see your progress on it. And I feel you about ripping out all those stitches!
    **Found you via the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers**

    Like

  4. Pingback: My Small World ….is starting to grow! | Indigo Cottage quilts

Leave a Reply

